New Baby Critter Joins the Snuggle Ball and an Old Friend Returns to the Bed

I am going to write another silly post. I have an excuse for being silly, but I’m going to make you wait until the end of this post to find out.

For Christmas my snuggle ball got bigger! At first it was made up of baby bunny and my two little penguins wrapped in their nice little throw blankie with snow flakes on it.  You can read their story here. Now a new baby critter has joined the snuggle ball.

Bunny and Penguins have a new monkey friend to cuddle with. He is kind of a weird looking monkey. He goes around your neck and gives you a nice vibrating massage. I didn’t put any batteries in him, instead I snuggled him into the snuggle ball.  Monkey curled himself around Bunny and Penguins to help keep them snuggled on cold nights. I keep my ball of baby critters snuggled under my chin when I sleep.  His Monkey face is so cute snuggled in with penguin beaks and bunny ears, and there are more little faces to kiss in the night. I was afraid that Bunny and Penguins might get jealous of the new monkey, but they are all snuggling just fine.

Monkey came to us from a Christmas gift exchange. Everyone brought a gift and took turns drawing a gift. Other people could steal your gift when it’s their turn to choose.  The first gift turned out to be an ugly Yoda mug.  Somebody stole that.  I was happy someone took that ugly thing.  On my second draw, I found a little baby monkey in a Christmas bag.  Nobody took him.  I was happy to keep him.

100_1372My old friend Teddy also came back to the bed. I retrieved my neglected old friend from the closet where he had been stored several years ago.  I felt sad one night, and had an urge to snuggle with my childhood teddy bear, or Tet E. Bear. I have been very neglectful of him.  First of all, I went away for several years and left him lying on the bed all alone.  When I came back, I packed him away for safe keeping, and forgot about him for a few more years. He must have been calling out to me that night. I went and found him, and brought him into the bed to meet the baby critters.  That first night, Teddy slept in my arms, with the baby critters between his paws.

Over the years, poor Teddy has lost a lot of stuffing, and is face is rather flat.  He has safety pins in his head to keep any more stuffing from falling out. I owe poor Teddy lots of snuggles and kisses to make up for lost time. I am happy to have him back. We were young together and now we will be old together.

Now about that excuse: I know a lot of people will consider me childish for chatting about my stuffed animals. Well, I don’t have any children, or any fur babies, all I have is my snuggle ball. I could argue that my silliness is a product of a playful writers’ imagination. Maybe writers will buy that, but lots of other people will judge. There is something to be said about being silly like a child. And I have it on good authority that there are valid reasons for being silly and playful.

Jesus himself said: “Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven. Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 18: 3-4 (KJV)

I understand that a lot of people will try to explain this saying away: that Jesus doesn’t really mean being like a child with a child’s sense of imagination and playfulness. But rather that being like a child means being submissive and obedient to authorities. I think that interpretation misses the point. After all, if that is what he meant then why not just say so? The kingdom of heaven is not a place about authority and power and control. Quite the opposite. That is why the greatest in the kingdom is that little child.

100_1399For all the people who criticize me for being so silly. I say: “I’m practicing being a child for the time when we enter the kingdom.” So stop bothering me, I’m Practicing!

 

 

 



Join my email list by clicking on the subscribe button. I will send occasional updates and announcements. You can also follow me on Social Media. The links are at the bottom of the drop down menu.subscribe_button

 

Leave a Reply

